A New Direction

Apologies for the radio silence as of late. Although I haven’t been sharing, I promise that I haven’t stopped writing!

After much deliberation (and a bit too much procrastination), Nullity will be taking a new direction. And with good reason.

Nullity started out as some messy scribblings on a dozen Post-It notes, and continued to develop in the same chaotic style. In fact, my iPhone currently holds over fourteen notes containing scenes that have come to mind whilst out and about. More legible than my handwriting, but still chronically disorganised.

I had been warned that sharing previews of a novel-in-progress is risky, as earlier edits are always subject to change. Advice that, as an eager young novelist (I refrain from using the prefix ‘aspiring’), I blatantly disregarded.* However I don’t regret it. Nor will I be removing previous sneak-peeks from this blog. There will be an Elouise and Jay story at some point, but right now, there is a more pressing tale to be told.

That tale is of law student depression.

I may be getting ahead of myself in saying this,** but it is envisaged that a percentage of book proceeds will go to an organisation involved in raising awareness of, preventing, and supporting those with depression in the legal profession.

Stay tuned for more updates, inspiration and sneak-peeks!***

* “Good advice is always certain to be ignored, but that’s no reason not to give it.” – Agatha Christie
** After all, snippets are still being collated on virtual legal notepads…
*** Yes, I can be quite stubborn.

Leave a comment